Florida Driving Records – Common Questions

How can I get a copy of my Florida driving record?

We offer the easiest and most convenient way to get a copy of your driving record at this Florida Driving Record site. You can get your record by first class U.S. mail or even faster by e-mail. All you need is a credit card and you can place the order online. Have your driver’s license ready when you order. We get your information directly from the official Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles database. This is the same database that is used by law enforcement, insurance companies, and employers to check your driver information.

Why would I need a copy of my driving record?

Your driving record reflects your driving history. Your record would show how many infractions you have received, how many points, restrictions, accidents, suspensions, and more. Remember, we use the same database as your employer, insurance company, etc. If your insurance company, employer, or any other business were to see incorrect information on your driving record, it could affect your employment, insurance rates, and any other accounts. You can order a copy of your Florida driving record from this website to review your report and it’s available to you for a nominal fee.

In Addition…

Before beginning a new job that requires driving a company vehicle, many employers require your driving record. Our driving records are non-certified which is perfect for employment purposes.

Also, if you can’t remember the last time you took traffic school to remove points from your record, our complete driver history record is for you. As the 3 or 7 year records would not show the traffic tickets that have been hidden, determine if you have taken traffic school in the 12 month period by checking your complete record.

Continue to review your driving record for any mistakes. Treat your personal information in your driving record as carefully as you would treat your important personal information on your credit report. Remember, your car insurance company uses your driving history to set your insurance rates and your employer may need your record for employment screening purposes. You may want to consider reviewing your driving record on a periodic basis to avoid those costly and time-consuming mistakes.

What is the difference between a 3-year, 7-year and Complete driving record?

The three and seven year driving records only contain infractions that were adjudicated by the courts within that period of time. Only the tickets where you were found guilty will appear on a three or seven year driving record. If you received a traffic ticket but took traffic school to avoid getting points on your driving record, the infraction and points are considered “adjudication withheld”. This means the infraction and points will not appear on a three or seven year driving record.A Complete driving record contains all traffic infractions even for those where you took traffic school to avoid getting points on your license. A complete driving record contains all traffic citations and any additional information the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles determines should be included for approximately the past 11 years. Infractions reported by other states are also included on your record during this period.

What are the advantages of ordering my record online?

We, the American Safety Council, Inc., are the DMV-approved provider of Florida driving records. Processing your order online is good for the environment and for you! We can process your record faster than waiting the two or three weeks for the Department to process your request by mail. We provide you with:

Why do my name, address and social security number not appear on my driving record?

Personal information such as your name, address and social security number will not be displayed on the driving record you obtain from this website for your protection and to comply with State and Federal regulations. Your driver’s license number is listed on the report which can be used to identify you.

If there is an infraction on my driving record, what does the disposition code mean?

  DIS   1   TWO SERIOUS TRAFFIC VIOLATION WITHIN 3 YRS IN COMMERCIAL MOTOR VEHICLE   
  DIS   2   THREE SERIOUS TRAFFIC VIOLATIONS WITHIN 3 YRS IN COMMERCIAL MOTOR VEHICLE   
  DIS   3   FELONY INVOLVING MANIFESTING/DISTRIBUTING/DISPERSING CONTROLLED SUBSTANCE-COMMERCIAL MOTOR VEHICLE   
  DIS   4   DRIVING COMMERCIAL MOTOR VEHICLE WHILE UNDER THE INFLUENCE   
  DIS   5   DRIVING COMMERCIAL MOTOR VEHICLE WHILE ALCOHOL CONTENT .04 OR HIGHER   
  DIS   6   LEAVE SCENE OF ACCIDENT INVOLVING A COMMERCIAL MOTOR VEHICLE   
  DIS   7   USE A COMMERCIAL MOTOR VEHICLE IN COMMISSION OF A FELONY   
  DIS   8   DRIVING COMMERCIAL MOTOR VEHICLE IN POSSESSION OF CONTROLLED SUBSTANCE   
  DIS   9   REFUSED TEST TO DETERMINE ALCOHOL CONTENT-COMMERCIAL MOTOR VEHICLE   
  DIS   10   INELIGIBLE TO OPERATE COMMERCIAL MOTOR VEHICLE - MEDICAL   
  DIS   11   INCAPABLE OPERATION COMMERCIAL MOTOR VEHICLE-SUBJECT TO EPILEPTIC SEIZURES   
  DIS   12   DRIVE WITH UNLAWFUL BLOOD ALCOHOL LEVEL OF .10 OR ABOVE-COMMERCIAL MOTOR VEHICLE   
  DIS   13   DRIVE WITH UNLAWFUL BLOOD ALCOHOL LEVEL OF .08 OR ABOVE-COMMERCIAL MOTOR VEHICLE  

How can I get a Certified Copy of my driving record?

Please visit your local Florida DMV office to get a certified copy of your driving record. You will have to pay their required fee or contact the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles to purchase your record by mail. You cannot order your certified driving record online. For more information, please click on the Department’s website at: http://www.hsmv.state.fl.us

Driver License Classes, Endorsements and Restrictions

 Commercial Driver License (CDL)

CLASS A: Any Tractor/Trailer combination that has an actual weight, declared weight or GVWR of 26,001 LBS. or more, provided towed vehicle is more than 10,000 LBS.

CLASS B: Any single motor vehicle that has an actual weight, declared weight or GVWR of 26,001 LBS. or more, or any such vehicle towing a vehicle of 10,000 LBS. or less.

CLASS C: Any motor vehicle that has an actual weight, declared weight or GVWR of less than 26,001 LBS. when endorsements "H" or "P" would be required on the driver license OR any combination of motor vehicles where the towing vehicle is less than 26,001 LBS. GVWR and the towed vehicle has a GVWR of 10,000 LBS. or less, but together they weigh 26,001 LBS. or more.

Non-Commercial Driver Licenses

CLASS D: Any truck or truck tractor that has an actual weight, declared weight or GVWR of 8,000 LBS or more but less than 26,001 LBS. or is more than 80 inches wide.

A resident who holds a valid Florida chauffeur license may continue to operate vehicles for which a CLASS D driver license is required until the chauffeur license expires. This includes farmers and emergency vehicle operators who are exempt.

CLASS E: Motor vehicles less than 8,000 LBS.

A resident who holds a valid Florida operator license may continue to operate vehicles for which a CLASS E driver license is required, until the operator license expires.

16 year olds cannot drive from 11 PM to 6 AM unless accompanied by 21 year old licensed driver or driving to and from work.

17 year olds cannot drive from 1 AM to 5 AM unless accompanied by 21 year old licensed driver or driving to and from work.

CLASS E-Learner: Motor vehicles less than 8,000 LBS.

A resident who holds a valid Florida learner license may continue to operate vehicles for which a CLASS E learner license is required, until the license expires.

Learner license has the following conditions:

May operate a vehicle only between the hours of 6 AM and 7 PM. After three months from issuance, drivers with a learner's license may operate a vehicle from 6 a.m. to 10 p.m. with a licensed driver, 21 years or older occupying the closest seat to right of the driver.

At least 21 year old accompanying licensed driver occupying the closest seat to right of the driver.

Does not allow for the operation of a motorcycle.

Motorcycles

For those authorized to operate motorcycle, the following abbreviation will appear on the front of the driver license under the expiration date:

MOTORCYCLE ALSO or MOTORCYCLE ONLY

CDL Exemptions

The following persons are exempt from the requirements to obtain a commercial driver license:

Drivers of authorized emergency vehicles that are equipped with extraordinary audible warning devices that display red or blue lights and are on call to respond to emergencies; or

Military personnel driving military vehicles; or

Farmers transporting farm supplies or farm machinery, or transporting agricultural products to or from the first place of storage or processing or directly to or from market, within 150 miles of their farm; or

Drivers of recreational vehicles used for recreational purposes; or

Drivers who operate straight trucks (single units) that are exclusively transporting their own tangible personal property which is not for sale.

An employee of a publicly owned transit system who is limited to moving vehicles for maintenance or parking purposes exclusively within the restricted-access confines of a transit system's property.

Restrictions    

A. Corrective Lenses p
B. Outside Rearview Mirror p
C. Business Purposes p 
D. Employment Purposes  
E. Daylight Driving Only  
F. Automatic Transmission  
G. Power Steering  
I. Directional Signals  
J. Grip on Steering Wheel  
K. Hearing Aid
L. Seat Cushion
M. Hand Control or Pedal Extension
N. Left Foot Accelerator
P. Probation-Interlock Device
S. Other Restrictions
T. No Passengers
X. Medical Alert Bracelet
Y. Education Purposes
1. Vehicles Without Airbrakes
2. (CDL) Intrastate Only
3. (CDL) Bus Only
4. CMV <26,001 LBS. GVWR
5. No Tractor/Trailers
6. No Class A Passenger Vehicle
7. No Class B Passenger Vehicle

Endorsements

  H.   Any vehicle used to transport hazardous materials in placardable amounts.   
  N.   A tank vehicle designed to transport any liquid or gaseous material with designed capacity of 1,000 gallons or more.   
  P.   Any vehicles, public or private, designed to transport 16 or more passengers, including the driver   
  T.   Combination vehicles with double/triple trailers   
  X.   Any tank vehicle used to transport placardable amounts of hazardous materials   
  F.   Farm CMV*   
  E.   Emergency CMV*  

* A resident operating a CMV who is exempt (farmers/emergency vehicle operators) must hold a Class D license with this endorsement to operate the type vehicle for which the exemption is granted, unless the operator holds a valid Florida Chauffeur license.

Additional Information

All CLASS A, B, C licenses issued by the 50 states will have their "CDL" or "Commercial Driver License" on the front of the license. All CMV drivers, nationwide, must possess the appropriate class of license, issued by their state of residency, on or after April 1, 1992.
 

Acronyms/Abbreviations

  CDL   Commercial Driver License   
  CMV   Commercial Motor Vehicle   
  GVWR   Gross Vehicle Weight Rating   
  LBS.   Pounds   
  MTCY ALSO   Motorcycle Also   
  MTCY ONLY   Motorcycle Only   
  <   Less Than  

*The information on this page is believed to be accurate but is not warranted. If you have questions, or to receive complete information, please contact the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles.

Why a recent traffic ticket I received doesn’t appear on my record?

The driver license database for driving citations, operated by The Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV) is updated after a disposition of an infraction has occurred. This means that the process could take several months for your ticket to be processed and ultimately appear on your driving record. Information pertaining to a ticket is either reported to the Department after a person has paid their fine, gone to traffic school, or otherwise disposes of their infraction through the courts. Traffic ticket information is reported to the applicable county Clerk of the Court for processing and reporting by law enforcement agencies. The Clerk of the Court’s office then reports it to the Florida DMV after final disposition of the infraction.  A non-contested ticket, where the driver simply pays the fine, can appear on a driving record in 30 or 60 days. A ticket that is contested, requires traffic school, or some other method of adjudication can take several months to appear on a driving record.

I got a traffic ticket and took traffic school to avoid receiving points on my license but I can’t see this information when I get a copy of my three-year or seven-year driving record?

The three and seven year driving records only contain infractions that were adjudicated by the courts within that period of time. If you received a traffic ticket but went to traffic school to avoid having points on your license, those points and the infraction are considered “adjudication withheld” and will not appear on your three or seven year driving record. Only the tickets where you were found guilty will appear on you driving record. If you want to see all of the traffic infractions, including the infractions where traffic school was taken to avoid getting points on your license, you will need to order a Complete Driving Record. A complete driving record contains all traffic citations and any additional information the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles determines should be included for approximately the past 11 years. Infractions reported by other states are also included on your record during this period.

Remember that non-moving violations do not generally result in points on your license but will usually appear on your record since they are adjudicated.

How many points can I accumulate before my license is suspended?

If you accumulate:

How many times can I take a driver improvement course (Traffic School)?

You can take a basic driver improvement course once in any 12 month period, from the date of your traffic violation, and no more than 5 times in a lifetime (Florida Statutes, 318.14(9)). However, in Broward and Miami-Dade Counties you may be able to take the www.judgeordered.com <http://www.judgeordered.com> 8-hour course in the same year even though you have already taken another 4-hour course during that particular year. It is up to a judge to approve this and is done so on a case-by-case basis.

How do I find out the citation number from a recent ticket I received if it does not appear on my driving record?

To find out the citation number you must contact the law enforcement ageny who issued the ticket. Alternatively you contact the courthouse in the county where you received the ticket.

What should I do if I find incorrect information on my driving record?

The information contained in a driving record is compiled directly from the records of the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles. If you believe that the information within your driving record is incorrect this department is the only entity authorized to process changes. For more information and assistance contact this department directly at (850) 617-2000.